The Village Voice’s 5th Annual Choice Eats Tasting Event

Last night I attended a food event hosted by The Village Voice (a free NYC-based weekly newspaper). I had purchased a general admission ticket so I didn’t have access to the VIP section downstairs, but there was plenty of food and drink upstairs. The event brought together vendors from all across the city to showcase their food. A decent list of breweries, wineries, and spirit-makers were also present, and bottles of water were provided by Glaceau smartwater.

Unfortunately some of the restaurants ran out of food early (most regrettably: Dean Street and their pulled pork sliders), and others didn’t look worth trying. There were around fifty non-dessert vendors at the event, but I couldn’t have eaten that many dishes. I ended up satisfied with the amount that I tried, which was about fifteen dishes plus some desserts and cocktails.

Here were my five favorite savory bites:

Pork Sausage Roll from Sheep Station (169 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY)

Classic Vietnamese Sandwich from Nicky's Vietnamese Sandwiches (99-C Nassau Street, NY, NY)

Fried Brussel Sprouts from Tanoreen (7523 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn, NY)

Beef Meatball Slider from Max (181 Duane Street, NY, NY)

BBQ Bacon with "Slaw" Custard from Tenpenny (16 East 46th Street, NY, NY)

My favorite of these was the fried Brussel sprouts from Tanoreen.  They were cooked perfectly and had amazing flavors. I wish I had gone back for a second round!

Despite the fact that there were so many dessert options available, I ended up only trying three things, and they were all excellent:

Left: Salted Crack Caramel & Oatmeal Lace ice creams from Ample Hills Creamery (623 Vanderbilt Avenue, Brooklyn, NY); Right: Kumquat Cupcakery

I tried the chocolate mini-cupcake with salted caramel frosting and it was insanely good. Unfortunately I went back a while later to try the other two and all the cupcakes were finished! I was getting pretty full by that point, though, so I suppose that was okay.

As for beverages, I tasted Prairie Organic Vodka, both straight and in a spiked lemonade cocktail they had created. Quite yummy. I also tried Tito’s Handmade Vodka from Austin, Texas. They weren’t offering it straight but instead in a Moscow Mule, which I drank from my complimentary tasting glass:

Moscow Mule from Tito's Handmade Vodka (Austin, Texas)

Here are some more photos from the event:

3 thoughts on “The Village Voice’s 5th Annual Choice Eats Tasting Event

  1. Your pictures look amazing! I would have been all over the ice cream and cupcakes! I really should make a trip back to New York and just focus on food.

    • Thanks! That event was a lot of fun. I’m already looking forward to attending again next year, a little wiser and with some strategy on how to navigate it!

  2. Pingback: Gran Electrica | visible spectra

Comment on this Post

