Bill’s Bar & Burger

American
Rockefeller Center, NYC
212.705.8510
Website 

A few months ago I ate at Bill’s Bar & Burger for the first time. Considering their name, I figured I had to try a cheeseburger. I also had sweet potato fries, and the chopped salad. The burger was nothing special, the fries were okay, and the salad was tasty, but none of it would draw me back again. However, during that meal, I kept noticing that people all around me were ordering a dish I had overlooked on the menu. I made a mental note to come back at least one more time and try the Blackened Mahi Tacos.

I finally went back and tried the tacos and they were really delicious. I understand why it appeared to be so popular during my first trip. The fish was cooked nicely and had a well-seasoned crust on most of the surface. Beneath the fish was shredded lettuce, a small dollop of basic guacamole, and some crunchy cole slaw, and on top, a generous drizzle of chipotle aioli and diced tomatoes and onions.

Yum. They might not be authentic Mexican tacos but the flavors and textures were great. I’ll gladly go back to Bill’s again to have these.

Comment on this Post

